Anneke Spies

Ruben Buger

Contact them via email:

SA Weightlifting National Athletes’ Commission Representatives

for 2023-2024

What is the The South African Weightlifting Athletes’ Commission?

The aim of the athletes’ commission is to ensure the athletes of the Federation are represented by a body which is independent of the associations and the Federation.

Provincial Athlete Representatives and SA Weightlifting National Commission Members for 2023-2024

Eastern Cape Province

No Athletes accepted nomination

Free State Province

Male: Antony Swanepoel

Female: No Athletes accepted nomination

Gauteng Province

Male: Greggory Sean Bernstein

Female: Chantelle Burger

KwaZulu Natal Province

Male: No Athletes accepted nomination

Female: Candice Behrens

Limpopo Province

Male: Charles Coetser

Female: No Athletes accepted nomination

North West Province

Male: Wouter Nel

Female: Idele du Toit

Western Cape Province

Male: Ruben Burger

Female: Anneke Spies

The Athletes’ commission

♦ will promote affiliation and participation

♦ will represent the active athletes of the various provinces

♦ must voice the concerns of the athletes

♦ must act in the best interests of the athletes

♦ will promote anti-doping behaviour amongst their members

♦ will promote the athletes’ code of conduct amongst their members

The National Athletes’ Commission:

♦ must meet at least once each year

♦ will select the athlete to be nominated for the IWF Athletes’ Commission

♦ will represent the South African Weightlifting Federation athletes on the SASCOC Athletes’ Commission

♦ must discuss and accept the Selection Policy

♦ will discuss, accept and promote the athletes’ code of conduct